B.U.G.

Enter the hilarious world of BILLIE UPTON GREEN . . .

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. is the first book in an exciting new series full of Billie’s laugh-out-loud observations and doodles!
The story follows Billie Upton Green – she has three rather unfortunate initials, two lovely mums, and soon finds herself at the centre of one very large mistake.

What people are saying…


Thank you so much for writing such an inclusive book in a totally “normal” way. It’s early days but you may just have got my lovely girls’ reading mojo back on track. Full post here.

Facebook post – parent

Thank you so much for writing a book which has ignited a love for reading in some of my reluctant readers.

Beaumont Primary School teacher

Got this book for my 10 yr old daughter and we have been in hysterics reading this out loud to each other.

..funny, entertaining and accessible. It’s one of those ‘read-it-in-one-go-because-I/we- can’t-put-it-down-books. The main story is really engaging and full of surprises. It includes illustrations, diagrams and little games/activities to try that make it a really immersive reading experience. Brilliant!

Simply brilliant! The best book we’ve read the ages. Passing it round all the family. Such a breathe of fresh air. Would 100% recommend.

I laughed out loud throughout the story.

A fantastic book which will appeal to young and old . Easy to read and great doodles. Funny and relatable.

We totally fell in love with Billie’s character.

Snippets from Amazon reviews

A wonderfully funny story with a mystery to solve that explores relationships in a positive and inclusive way…will be a popular read with those in my class who need an alternative to the likes of Wimpy Kid …a great starting point to discuss relationships of all kinds…very funny …a sure-fire hit with independent readers in Year 4 upwards, and younger children as a shared read…fabulous 5 out of 5 stars. Full review here.

Mrs Sydney, Y5 teacher

This book is immense fun! The first I’ve read in a single sitting in a long while!

Louie Stowell, author of Otherland and The Dragon in the Library

Laugh out loud funny…how wonderful to see a main character with experiences like our son’s.book is immense fun! The first I’ve read in a single sitting in a long while!

Mr McInnes, Y6 teacher

This book is superb! My 10yo read it in two sittings, laughed herself silly, and then asked me to preorder the sequel. It’s going to fly off the shelves…

Jamie Russell, author of Skywake – Invasion

An absolutely, side-splitting hysterical book with awesome representation of alternative families. A simply joyous read! Read the full review here!

Tom Slattery, Deputy Head Teacher

Billie’s diary may be accidental, but from the very first page it’s absolutely unforgettable. Billie is sparky, relatable and just the right amount of rude – I can’t wait to introduce her to readers who I know are going to fall for her just as our whole team did. It was no surprise to us that the creator of this irresistible book was just as wonderful as her writing and illustrations: Jen is a rare talent and I am delighted to be working with her to bring this brilliant world to life.”

Emma Jones, Penguin Random House

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G introduces readers to the hilarious world of Billie Upton Green and her whip-smart, laugh-out-loud observations on life in her doodled-up diary.

The Bookseller

I knew from the first page that B.U.G. was a truly special book full of warmth, inclusivity and belly laughs.

Chloe Seager, Literary Agent

When Billie Upton Green’s mum buys her a jotter to practise her spellings, the feisty ten-year-old is having none of it. She immediately repurposes the terrible ‘gift’ into a much more entertaining Stay-Awake Doodle Diary.

Who knew she’d have SO MUCH to say?!

What with the Biscuit Laws to perfect, a thief to catch, an annoying new girl to contend with, and her mums’ wedding on the horizon, it’s never a dull day in Billie’s world.

Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Jacqueline Wilson, get ready for some right belly laughs as you dive into the first book in a brand new fully illustrated comedy series that is as heart-warming as it is hilarious.

WARNING: This book might broaden your mind.