B.U.G.

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. is a new inclusive comedy series, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Jacqueline Wilson.

Book 1: The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.

Enter the hilarious world of Billie Upton Green . . . The start of an exciting new series full of Billie’s laugh-out-loud observations and doodles!

There is a new girl at Billie’s school, and Billie takes it upon herself to show her around, teach her the Biscuit Laws, and remind her that yes, two women can get married (after all, Billie’s mums’ wedding is the event of the year).

But then suspicion sets in.

The new girl seems very close to Billie’s best friend Layla. And doesn’t she know a little too much about the latest big school heist – the theft of Mrs Robinson’s purse…?

Book 2: The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. BASICALLY FAMOUS

It started with The Accidental Diary Of B.U.G. – now get ready for the second hilarious diary of unforgettable Billie Upton Green!

School just got INTERESTING. Not only is Billie’s class learning how to P.E.E. in the classroom (don’t ask), they now have some very important contacts in the TV world.

So as long as Janey McVey doesn’t keep doing the splits for attention, and Billie’s mums don’t keep distracting her with a huge secret thing they seem to be planning… well watch out, because it’s time for B.U.G. to make it BIG!

Book 3: The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. SISTER ACT

The third hilarious accidental diary from Billie Upton Green (don’t call her BUG!)

There’s an exciting addition to the Upton Green family (and it’s not whatever Mr Paws has left on the living room carpet…).

But getting a new little sister isn’t nearly as straightforward as Billie expects. Why are there so many rules? It’s been weeks and weeks, and she still hasn’t been able to hold the baby up at Show & Tell.

Luckily, the school musical is in full swing, giving Billie the perfect distraction. She just needs to watch out for Painy Janey, who has her eyes on the main part and doesn’t care what gets in her way…


What people are saying…

Jen Carney is literally a comic genius! As an adopted person myself, it was so wonderful to see an adoptee having fun, living her best life (with biscuits) and being basically awesome! I highly recommend this riotous read . . . My kids and I can’t wait for more books from the talent and wonder that is Jen Carney!

Maisie Chan, author of Danny Chung Does Not Do Maths

A brilliant, hilarious and heartwarming book! Amazing for normalising same sex parenting and adoption, completely laugh-out-loud funny and a feast for the eyes with lots of fun and engaging doodles. I loved it!

Abigail Balfe, author of A Different Sort of Normal

Thank you so much for writing such an inclusive book in a totally “normal” way. It’s early days but you may just have got my lovely girls’ reading mojo back on track. Full post here.

Facebook post – parent

Thank you so much for writing a book which has ignited a love for reading in some of my reluctant readers.

Beaumont Primary School teacher

Got this book for my 10 yr old daughter and we have been in hysterics reading this out loud to each other.

..funny, entertaining and accessible. It’s one of those ‘read-it-in-one-go-because-I/we- can’t-put-it-down-books. The main story is really engaging and full of surprises. It includes illustrations, diagrams and little games/activities to try that make it a really immersive reading experience. Brilliant!

Simply brilliant! The best book we’ve read the ages. Passing it round all the family. Such a breathe of fresh air. Would 100% recommend.

I laughed out loud throughout the story.

A fantastic book which will appeal to young and old . Easy to read and great doodles. Funny and relatable.

We totally fell in love with Billie’s character.

Snippets from Amazon reviews

A wonderfully funny story with a mystery to solve that explores relationships in a positive and inclusive way…will be a popular read with those in my class who need an alternative to the likes of Wimpy Kid …a great starting point to discuss relationships of all kinds…very funny …a sure-fire hit with independent readers in Year 4 upwards, and younger children as a shared read…fabulous 5 out of 5 stars. Full review here.

Mrs Sydney, Y5 teacher

This book is immense fun! The first I’ve read in a single sitting in a long while!

Louie Stowell, author of Otherland and The Dragon in the Library

Laugh out loud funny…how wonderful to see a main character with experiences like our son’s.

Mr McInnes, Y6 teacher

This book is superb! My 10yo read it in two sittings, laughed herself silly, and then asked me to preorder the sequel. It’s going to fly off the shelves…

Jamie Russell, author of Skywake – Invasion

An absolutely, side-splitting hysterical book with awesome representation of alternative families. A simply joyous read! Read the full review here!

Tom Slattery, Deputy Head Teacher

Billie’s diary may be accidental, but from the very first page it’s absolutely unforgettable. Billie is sparky, relatable and just the right amount of rude – I can’t wait to introduce her to readers who I know are going to fall for her just as our whole team did. It was no surprise to us that the creator of this irresistible book was just as wonderful as her writing and illustrations: Jen is a rare talent and I am delighted to be working with her to bring this brilliant world to life.”

Emma Jones, Penguin Random House

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G introduces readers to the hilarious world of Billie Upton Green and her whip-smart, laugh-out-loud observations on life in her doodled-up diary.

The Bookseller

I knew from the first page that B.U.G. was a truly special book full of warmth, inclusivity and belly laughs.

Chloe Seager, Literary Agent